Goal of the Season

Last updated : 15 May 2004 By Andy Beill
The ten contenders are the winners of each Goal of the Month, which were:

Alton Thelwell (Hull City 4-1 Darlington, Saturday 9th August)
Thelwell capped his debut with a goal on the opening day of the season, firing in a half-volley from the corner of the box.

Andy Dawson (Hull City 6-1 Kidderminster Harriers, Saturday 27th September)
Elliott laid the ball back to Dawson 25 yards out. After controlling it, he hit it on the half-volley, sending it past the goalkeeper who didn't move.

Andy Holt (Hull City 3-0 Lincoln City, Saturday 25th October)
Holt played a one-two with Allsopp on the edge of the box, running in to smash it past the keeper to give City a half time lead - his first goal in over two years.

Richard Hinds (Hull City 2-2 Macclesfield Town, Saturday 1st November)
The ball dropped for Hinds 25 yards out and he wrapped his left foot around the ball and sent it into the Macclesfield goal to score from nothing.

Ben Burgess (York City 0-2 Hull City, Friday 26th December)
Elliott's ball forward was nodded on by Forrester, and Burgess finished from the edge of the area.

Ben Burgess (Hull City 4-2 Oxford United, Saturday 17th January)
Elliott went on a surging run through the middle and after beating two men, played it to Burgess. He curled in a left-foot shot from the right side of the area to make it 1-0.

Jon Walters (Hull City 2-1 York City, Saturday 7th February)
After York had equalised, Walters came off the bench to score in his first game back at City. Marshall crossed from the right and the former Bolton forward headed home from six yards out.

Damien Delaney (Hull City 1-0 Rochdale, Saturday 27th March)
Delaney brought the ball out from left-back, and as Burgess created space inside he continued his run before firing over goalkeeper Neil Edwards and into the net from 25 yards out.

Ian Ashbee (Southend United 2-2 Hull City, Tuesday 20th April)
Ashbee smashed the ball into the top corner from the edge of the area to save a point in the 68th minute.

Ian Ashbee (Yeovil Town 1-2, Saturday 1st May)
The ball ran for Ashbee just outside the box, and he curled a controlled shot into the top corner to win the game and also seal promotion.

Once you have decided on your favourite, vote for it using the 'Your Vote' box on the right-hand-side of the homepage. The winner will be revealed in a week's time.

Don't forget to vote for your Player of the Year as well if you haven't already done so. You have just a few days left to help decide who gets the trophy. Click here to make your selection.