Squad Numbers Revealed

Last updated : 08 July 2004 By Andy Beill
Photo © JackArmy.net
Three players keeping the same squad numbers
New signings Leon Cort (5) and Nick Barmby (8) have been given numbers in the first eleven, taking the numbers vacated following John Anderson and Jamie Forrester's departures.

Boaz Myhill has been promoted to the number 1 shirt worn by Alan Fettis last season. Fettis is now at Macclesfield, while Paul Musselwhite's move to Scunthorpe sees his replacement, Sergio Leite, take the number 12 shirt.

The rest of the first eleven numbers have been kept by the players who wore them last year, including Ben Burgess at 9 despite the fact he's not expected to play this season due to injury.

New signing Roland Edge takes the number 15 that has belonged to Justin Whittle for the last two years before his transfer to Grimsby.

Delroy Facey has the number 17 formerly worn by Steve Melton, while Michael Keane gets Ryan Williams's old number 20 shirt. Junior Lewis keeps the number 19 that he wore while on loan with City last season.

Stuart Green (14), Damien Delaney (16) and Jason Price (18) retain their numbers despite being first team regulars.

Nathan Peat and Andy Holt have not been included on the list, suggesting that neither will return next season. Peat is thought to have signed a new one-year deal, and is being linked with a season-long loan spell at Lincoln. His number 21 hasn't been allocated to anyone else though. Holt's number 24 hasn't been given away either, although he isn't expected to return to the club now that his contract has expired.

'Unlucky' number 13 hasn't been assigned to anyone, while 21-27 are also all unreserved.

Fans may get names and numbers on their shirts for £10 at the club shop, where home, away and goalkeeper's kits are now fully in stock.

The list in full:
1. Boaz Myhill
2. Alton Thelwell
3. Andy Dawson
4. Ian Ashbee
5. Leon Cort
6. Marc Joseph
7. Stuart Elliott
8. Nick Barmby
9. Ben Burgess
10. Danny Allsopp
11. Jon Walters
12. Sergio Leite
13. vacant
14. Stuart Green
15. Roland Edge
16. Damien Delaney
17. Delroy Facey
18. Jason Price
19. Junior Lewis
20. Michael Keane
21. vacant
22. vacant
23. vacant
24. vacant
25. vacant
26. vacant
27. vacant
28. Richard Hinds
29. Ryan France
30. Scott Wiseman
31. vacant
32. vacant
33. Clayton Donaldson
34. Russell Fry