Dawson Achieves PFA Recognition

Last updated : 26 April 2004 By Andy Beill
Photo courtesy of jackarmy.net
Andy Dawson - highly thought of by his fellow professionals
Dawson is the only City player to have been named in the select side, voted for by fellow players. It comes in his first season since moving to the KC Stadium from Scunthorpe last summer. Although being sidelined twice with injuries, the 25-year-old has been an established first team star, managing three goals from 31 league appearances.

His former Scunthorpe team-mates Nathan Stanton and Peter Beagrie were also selected for the Division Three team of the season, although the league's top scorer Steve MacLean was shunned in favour of Swansea's Lee Trundle and Torquay's David Graham. Graham's team-mate Alex Russell was also chosen for a second year running.

Despite having by no means the best 'goals against' record in the league, Yeovil's Chris Weale was picked out as the number 1 goalkeeper.

Winger Michael McIndoe was the only player from champions Doncaster Rovers to be included.

Huddersfield's star Nigerian defender Efetobore Sodje made the side, as did Andy Crosby of Oxford and Mansfield midfielder Liam Lawrence.

Elsewhere at the awards ceremony held tonight, Thierry Henry was named the overall PFA Player of the Year - the first ever player to retain the title. Chelsea's former Charlton midfielder Scott Parker is the Young Player of the Year, while Crewe's long-serving manager Dario Gradi MBE won the Merit Award.

Hull City Online would like to congratulate Andy Dawson on his achievement in representing the Tigers. Don't forget you can still vote for our own Player of the Year award by clicking here.